Results Pujada a Sa Cala (Subida Isla de Ibiza) 2017

The Pujada a Sa Cala on Ibiza was the final round of the Balearic Islands Hillclimb Championship. Andrés Vilariño took victory with a new trackrecord. The former European Champion was much stronger than the opposition. He finished with a lead of almost 10 seconds on his nearest rival José Fernandez. Pedro Mayol finished in third and is the new champion.

More …

Results Brdska Trka Slatina / Banja Luka 2017

The Brdska Trka Slatina near Banja Luka was competed three weeks ago but the results were not yet posted. It was the final round of the Bosnia and Hercegovina Hillclimb Championship. With his victory Salih Ljubijankic secured himself the 2017 title. Dani Delmo finished second at Slatina while Nihad Seferagic completed the podium.

More …

Results Nagrada Dubrovnika – Memorijal Željko Đuratović 2017

The Nagrada Dubrovnika – Memorijal Željko Đuratović was the final round of the Croatian Hillclimb Championship. Domagoj Perekovic was already certain of the touringcar title before the end. That was fortunate because the new champion suffered differential damage in Dubrovnik and scored no points. Second placed Istvan Kavecz was another driver with mechanical problems.

With the two top drivers out of the race Mario Jurisic moved into the lead. With this victory Jurisic moved up to second place in the points standings. It was a brilliant conclusion to a succesful 2017 season for Jurisic. His Opel Vectra STW is not nearly as powerful as his rivals machines but he still managed to take two overall victories this year.

Bojan Juranic finished second in Dubrovnik. He finished equal in points with Istvan Kavecz. But because the Hungarian has more second-place finishes Juranic ends the championship in fourth.

For safety reason the singleseaters of category 2 were not allowed to drive in Dubrovnik. Laszlo Szasz is once again the new champion in this category.

More …

Results Subida a Vejer de la Frontera 2017

The next round of the Andalucian Hillclimb Championship was the Subida a Vejer. The top 3 was the same on both days. Humberto Janssens was once again the winner. Guest driver Gerard De La Casa was second while sportscar winner Francisco Aguilar finished third.

More …

Results Subida A Estrada 2017

The Subida A Estrada returned to the Galician Hillclimb Championship after a number of years. Apparantly not everyone was happy with that. When waking up on Sunday morning the organizers found a 2 kilometre long oil spill on the track. Based on the time, place and size of the oil spill it looked like a deliberate attack on the event. After many hours of hard work by everyone involved it was decided to shorten the track by 2 kilometres.

Continuing the event was very important as the A Estrada Hillclimb was the final event of the season. Jesus Pombo still had a chance for the title if he could finish well ahead of Alexis Vieitez. Mechanical problems on Sunday morning prevented him from setting a great time. This dropped Pombo back to fourth overall. Alexis Vieitez also suffered trouble on Saturday but he could return on Sunday. He had lost a lot of time on race leader Jacobo Sobral on Saturday so he knew what to do. Vieitez was indeed the quickest on Sunday however it was not enough to pass Sobral for the victory. Still his second place overall secured him the 2017 title.

More …

Results Subida Al Pielago 2017

The Subida Al Pielago is the only hillclimb in Castilla La Mancha. Apart from the local championship the event also counted towards the Madrid Hillclimb Championship. The race was however dominated by drivers from other regions. The new champion in Castilla y Leon, Gabriel Gutierrez, was the fastest driver at Pielago. He was followed by his rival José Alonso in the unique Semog PR01 Sportscar. Behind the two leader father and son Garcia were succesful in the touringcars. Javier eventually finished third ahead of his father Jesus in fourth. Fifth was for another Porsche pilot, Victor Magariños. In sixth Jorge Ceballos was the best local driver. Ismael Arquero in seventh was the best driver from the Madrid region.

More …

Results Subida Arona – La Escalona 2017

Last year the Subida Arona – La Escalona was won by Simone Faggioli. This year the hillclimb on Tenerife again invited some drivers from Europe. Faggioli and the rest of his team were unavailable this year. Instead the organisers looked to Portugal for their guest drivers. The Portuguese champions of Category 2 (José Correia), Category 4 (Manuel Correia) and Category 5 (Joaquim Teixeira) were invited to Arona. Teixeira had some bad luck and could not complete one trouble-free run. José Correia on the other hand quickly adapted to this new hillclimb. He steered his Nissan Nismo GT3 to two fastest times and touringcar victory. Manuel Correia was second quickest in the first race. In the second race local hero Pedro Afonso managed to pass him for second place. Afonso could however never come close to the other Correia. Fastest driver of the weekend was Jonathan Morales in the sportscars.

More …

Results Pujada a PuigMajor 2017

The biggest hillclimb on the Balearic Islands is the Pujada a PuigMajor. Like every year a large number of drivers from the mainland travelled to Mallorca. Fastest driver of the weekend was Catalan Champion Francesc Munné. He was closely followed by Pablo Garrido in an Osella PA20/S sportscar. Third was for Pedro Mayol, the best local driver. In the touringcars José Antonio Lopez-Fombona and Raul Borreguero dominated the event. They also finished fifth and eighth overall.

More …

Results Cronoscalata Pedavena – Croce d’Aune 2017

The Cronoscalata Pedavena – Croce d’Aune was the final round of the Italian Hillclimb Championship. The numbers one and two of the European Championship gave one more battle here in northern Italy. Like they were all season, Simone Faggioli and Christian Merli were equally matched. For a long time it looked like Merli would win this final battle. He was the quickest in both practise sessions and again in the first race on Sunday morning. But in the second race Faggioli set the fastest time of the weekend. On aggregate Faggioli was also the quickest and therefore the winner. Diego De Gasperi in the Team Faggioli Osella FA30 completed the podium in third.

More …

Results Cronoscalata Luzzi – Sambucina 2017

The Italian Hillclimb Cup South continued with the Cronoscalata Luzzi – Sambucina. The race was stopped early after an incident occured at the end of the second race. For some reason two spectators took a nasty fall and required immediate medical attention. They were transported to the hospital but did not have life threatening injuries. The race was not resumed anymore. This meant that the E2-SC and E2-SS classes could not complete their second race. For this reason no official general classifications were published. With a combined time of 7:18,55 Franz Caruso was the unofficial winner. Class results were determined based on the amount of races completed.

More …