Entrylist Course de Côte d’Abreschviller – Saint Quirin 2017

Entrylist for the Course de Côte d’Abreschviller – Saint Quirin. It is the third round of the French Hillclimb Championship and the first round of the Luxembourg Hillclimb Championship.
More …

Calendar Luxembourg Hillclimb Championship 2017

29-30/04/2017Course de Côte Abreschviller-St. QuirinAbreschviller
06-07/05/2017European Hill RaceEschdorf
04-05/06/2017Wolsfelder AvD/EMSC BergrennenWolsfeld
15-16/07/2017Homburger ADAC BergrennenHomburg
29-30/07/2017Course de Côte de La BroqueSchirmeck
05-06/08/2017Int. Osnabrücker BergrennenHilter/Borgloh
19-20/08/2017St. Ursanne - Les RangiersSt. Ursanne
09-10/09/2017Course de Côte de Turckheim - 3 EpisTurckheim

Results Course de Côte de Saint Ursanne – Les Rangiers 2016

160821_stursanneSimone Faggioli was again unbeatable at the Course de Côte de Saint Ursanne – Les Rangiers. At the fastest hillclimb in Europe Faggioli broke his own trackrecord with quite a margin to take victory. David Hauser was best singleseater driver in second. However the driver from Luxembourg only scores points for his own nation’s championship. As a result Christian Merli keeps the pressure on Faggioli in the European Championship.

As Eric Berguerand was not present this weekend Joel Volluz had a great chance to score some points for the Swiss Hillclimb Championship. A serious accident in the first race heat prevented that plan. As a result Marcel Steiner was the best local in fourth. The most competitive class this weekend was the E2-SS -2000 with almost 30 drivers. Darren Warwick proved the fastest driver in this class and the Briton also finished fifth overall.

Best of the touringcar drivers was Reto Meisel with his unique Mercedes SLK340. He was closely followed by Ronnie Bratschi and E2-SH winner Dan Michl. Nikola Miljkovic and Christian Schweiger both won their classes so this category of the European Championship remains unchanged.

More …

Results Bergrennen Osnabrück 2016

160807_osnabruckThe International Hillclimb Cup visited its shortest event on the schedule. The Bergrennen Osnabrück in northern Germany also counted towards the Luxembourg Championship. Even though Joel Volluz was quickest in the second of three races, his aggregate time was not enough to keep Christian Merli from victory. Behind the two Osella FA30 pilots finished Cup points leader Vaclav Janik in third.

Ronnie Bratschi scored maximum points in E1 with class victory. The Swiss was also best touringcarpilot in the event. He was joined on the podium by the two GT3 BMW’s of local circuit racing squad Walkenhorst Racing.

More …

Results Homburger Bergrennen 2016

160717_homburgResults for the Homburger Bergrennen.

More …

Results Wolsfelder Bergrennen 2016

160516_wolsfeldJust one week after the round in Eschdorf the German and Luxembourg Hillclimb Championships and the Berg-Cup travelled to Wolsfeld. This small town just on the German side of the border with Luxembourg hosted the Wolsfelder Bergrennen. It is the oldest, shortest, narrowest and steepest hillclimb in Germany. It is a particular challenge that always gives strange results. Practise on Sunday was visited by some small rainshowers but it never disrupted events like it did last year. Monday Race Day was dry all over.

Bruno Ianniello has a special place for the Wolsfelder Bergrennen. The Lancia Delta S4 pilot always performs well here and can challenge for overall victory. For a long time it looked like the Swiss would inscribe his name on the palmares another time. Ianniello led after practise and was still fastest after two of the three races. Unfortunately his third race was a little worse than the other two. David Hauser benefitted immediately. The Dallara GP2 driver from Luxembourg set fastest time of the day in his last attempt. It was just enough to pass Ianniello and to take overall victory. In the shadows of the bigger Dallara Frank Debruyne slipped his Formula 3 also past Ianniello to take second place.

In the Berg-Cup Patrick Orth took victory in the important -2000 class. His aggregate time was still slightly better even though Björn Wiebe was fastest in two of the three races. Charel Valentiny was the fastest touringcar driver in the Luxembourg Championship.

More …

Results European Hill Race (Eschdorf) 2016

Results of the European Hill Race in Eschdorf.

More …

Provisional Entrylist Wolsfelder Bergrennen 2016

160516_wolsfeldIn 10 days time the shortest hillclimb in Germany will once again take place. The Wolsfelder Bergrennen hosts the German and Luxembourg Hillclimb Championships as well as the Berg-Cup.

Thanks to changing weather during the race, Egidio Pisano was the surprise winner last year. He returns to defend his crown this year but unless the weather gods are favourable again it will be very difficult for the Volkswagen Golf pilot.

More …

Calendar Luxembourg Hillclimb Championship 2016

The schedule for the 2016 Luxembourg Hillclimb Championship is exactly the same as this year’s calendar.

More …

Results Course de Côte de Turckheim – 3 Épis 2015

150906_turckheimThe French Hillclimb Championship was already decided before the final round at the Course de Côte de Turckheim – 3 Épis this weekend. That did not stop the two new champions from giving one more thrilling performance. With another Nicolas Werver (Porsche 997 GT3) completed his 100% score this year in the touringcar category. Although his namesake in the sportscar class, Nicolas Schatz, had lost two rounds this year to his rival Sébastien Petit (both Norma M20 FC), there was no stopping him this weekend. In a freshly repaired car after his accident at Urcy last weekend Schatz broke the trackrecord on his way to another victory. Petit also drove an impressive event but still had to give 1,7 seconds to Schatz. The podium was completed by Cyrille Frantz (Norma M20 FC) who benefitted from the absence of Geoffrey Schatz.

Fourth place was for Alban Thomas but the Reynard 01KL pilot was already 10 seconds behind Schatz! Billy Ritchen (Dallara F303/05) was best Formula 3 driver in fifth. David Guillaumard had a small crash in the second race which left him far behind. Instead it was Paul Buckingham (Dallara F305/07) who was second in F3. The Briton was also seventh overall just behind David Meillon who won the competitive CN3 class in his Norma M20F.

A special mention should go out to Yannick Poinsignon who steered the very old Pedrazza monoposto to an unbelievable eigth overall. Equally impressive was the young Belgian driver Corentin Starck. Driving a Norma M20 FC sportscar for the very first time he immediately won the CN2 class. An excellent results that hopefully promises a lot for 2016.

The Luxembourg Hillclimb Championship also ended 2015 in Turckheim this weekend. Roland Braquet (Dallara F308/11) is the new champion in the sportcar category. Nico Schilling (Subaru Impreza WRX) was the last touringcar winner of the season. I am not completely sure with the complicated points system but I think that makes him touringcar champion.

More …