Entrylist Trofeo Lodovico Scarfiotti / Sarnano Sassotetto 2016

160501_scarfiottiThe Italian Hillclimb Championship for modern cars starts this weekend with the Trofeo Lodovico Scarfiotti / Sarnano Sassotetto. Unique in Italy is that this hillclimb also counts towards the Italian Historic Hillclimb Championship. As a results the entry is massive with over 230 drivers participating. Three races in the Italian Championship clash with rounds of the European Championship (plus the FIA Hillclimb Masters and Pedavena clash) so it would be very hard to win both championships. Nevertheless both Simone Faggioli and Christian Merli are entered in Sarnano this weekend.

More …

Provisional Entrylist Course de Côte de Hersin-Coupigny 2016

160501_hersincoupignyThis Sunday the Course de Côte de Hersin-Coupigny will take place. It is the most northern regional hillclimb of the year in France. The winner of the event will surely be one of the six formula 3 drivers entered.

More …

Entrylist Course de Côte des Teurses d’Hébécrevon 2016

160508_hebecrevonIn about 10 days the French Hillclimb Championship moves to Normandy for the Course de Côte d’Hébécrevon. After the bumper entries of 170 drivers for the first three rounds the entry looks very sparse this time around. Just over 70 drivers have entered so far. There are 5 regional hillclimbs organised the same weekend plus another 3 on the Thursday before the event, which might explain the low numbers.

More …

Entrylist European Hill Race, Eschdorf 2016

In about 10 weeks time the 2016 edition of the European Hill Race in Eschdorf will take place. The sole hillclimb in Luxembourg will once again host the Luxemburg and German Hillclimb Championship together with the German Berg-Cup. Almost 180 drivers have entered this year.

Favourite is of course local hero David Hauser in his Dallra GP2. He will face some serious opposition from Swiss drivers Eric Berguerand (Lola FA99) and Joel Volluz (Osella FA30). Marcel Stiner will debut his new LobArt LA01 Mugen sportscar in Eschdorf. He can measure himself against Uwe Lang (Osella PA20/S) and Jacques Marchal (Norma M20F) amongst others.

Winner of the International Hillclimb Cup Ronnie Bratschi (Mitsubishi Lancer EVO VIII) is one of the favourites in the touringcars. Porsche drivers Yanick Bodson, Frederic Neff and Herbert Stolz will be his main rivals. For Martin Bürki there can be no better pre season test for his new BMW E36 318i STW. The car was Berg-Cup champion last year so will face all its former rivals again at Eschdorf.

More …

Results Dionysou Hillclimb 2016

160424_dionysouFor the first time in 40 years the Dionysou Hillclimb was back in the Greek Hillclimb Championship. This 5,7 kilometre hillclimb was competed in Nea Makri, a town just a few kilometres from Athens. Great weather and almost 100 entries attracted a great number of spectators to the event.

Giorgios Kechagias was unbeatable this weekend. The driver of the famous white Ford Sierra RS500 won Group E with quite a large margin and was also the fastest overall. Sakis Trovas (BMW M3) was the only driver in Group E who could come close. Konstantinos Ntofis (Ford Escort WRC) completed the podium, but already 25 seconds down from Kechagias.

Michail Euthymiou had an unfortunate weekend in Ritsona last month. The Ford Escort WRC pilot recovered this weekend in Dionysou with Group A victory. The victory in Group N went to Giorgos Argyriou after a hard battle with Stamatis Katsimis and Evangelos Andreadis (all Mitsubishi Lancer EVO IX). Panagiotis Parthenis (Mitsubishi Lancer EVO IX) was quickest in Formula Saloon.

More …

Results Subida a Canencia 2016

160424_canenciaOne more hillclimb took place in Spain this weekend. In the Madrid region the Subida a Canencia was scheduled. For this edition the racetrack was elongated about 1500 metres which brought the total tracklength to 5,6 kilometres.

The driver of the race must surely go to Javier Garcia. The Mitsubishi Lancer EVO VI pilot dominated the touringcar standings by not being fastest in all practise and race sessions, he also did it with a margin of over 15 seconds. Garcia was also faster than all the sportscars except one. That one driver was Bartolome Cazorla who steered his Speed Car GT to overall victory. Local Pedro Flores (Silver Car S2) joined Cazorla and Garcia on the third podiumstep.

More …

Results Subida Alto de La Cobertoria 2016

After a last minute cancellation earlier this year the Asturias Hillclimb Championship was now ready to start the season. Scheduled this weekend was a brand new hillclimb called the Subida Alto de La Cobertoria. The learning curve for this event was steep as it rained hard during practise. Gradually during the day the conditions improved and the track slowly dried.

Master in the rain was Rafael Guardiola. The Reynard RF10B pilot was fastest in practise and during the first two races. It was enough to build up a sizable lead of around seven seconds. That Jonathan Alvarez was fastest in the third and final race did not matter much anymore. The BRC CM05 EVO driver could only take back 2,5 seconds on Guardiola which was not nearly enough to challenge for victory. The podium was completed by José Ramon Fernandez in a Dicode FR singleseater. Best of the touringcars was Javier Beteta (Renault Clio Sport).

More …

Results Prescott Hillclimb Run-Off’s 2016

The British Hillclimb Championship started this weekend at the Prescott Hillclimb. Of course it is still early in this 17 round season but it already appears that there are 4 equal championship challengers this year. Wallace Menzies, Alex Summers (both Gould GR55 NME), Scott Moran (Gould GR61X NME) and Trevor Willis (OMS 28 RPE) kept swapping positions all day long. In the championship the four are still only separated by two points. Scott Moran is the first points leader after winning the second run-off. Wallace Menzies was succesful in the first run-off.

More …

Results Nagrada Stubičke Toplice 2016

160424_stubicketopliceThe Croatian Hillclimb Championship opened this weekend with the Nagrada Stubičke Toplice near Zagreb. It was also the first round of the Slovenia Hillclimb Championship. The battle for victory proved to be a clash of nations as the Hungarian-Croat Istvan Kavecz and Slovenian Milan Bubnic were way better then all the other competitors. Both drivers were about 20 seconds ahead of the rest of the field. Trackconditions improved slightly during the day as almost everyone could improve their times by about 10 seconds. Except Istvan Kavecz that is and the BMW E90 driver almost saw his 5 second lead over Bubnic disappear. He did held out though and was crowned the winner. The battle for third was also a Croat-Slovene duel. Here Croatia also got the better of their northwestern neighbours. Bojan Juranic climbed the final podium step relegating Matej Grudnik, who debuted his new Renaut Clio IV, to fourth.

More …

Results Rechbergrennen 2016

160424_rechbergResults Rechbergrennen.

More …