Results Subida Escusa Poio 2017

The Galicia Hillclimb Championship continued with the Subida a Escusa Poio. It is the homerace of championship leader Alexis Vieitez. With a good result he could even secure the championship here. On Saturday everything seemed to be going to plan. Vieitez had set the fastest time in the first race and it looked like he was coasting to another victory. But then disaster struck: engine problems in the Formula Outeda! The little singleseater could be not be repaired in time for the third and fourth race sessions on Sunday. So no points for Vieitez and suddenly an exciting championship race again.

Benefitting from Vieitez’ trouble was Pablo Rey. In another Outeda Singleseater Rey now raced for victory. He was also the only driver apart from Vieitez to tackle the track in under 2 minutes. Jesus Pombo was the runner-up at Escusa Poio and also becomes a serious challenger in the title race.

More …

Results Subida Charra a La Covatilla 2017

The next hillclimb in Castilla y Leon was the Subida Charra near La Covatilla. Gabriel Gutierrez had to retire his Dicode FR singleseater in the first race session. But in the second race Gutierrez sped to victory and the championship. José Alonso was the quickest driver in the first timed race but finally he had to bow down to Gutierrez. A brilliant drive from Ismael Arquero saw the him finish third overall. With a lead of over 12 seconds Arquero was also the touringcar winner. Runner-up in the touringcars and 8th overall was Manuel Bobes. With this second place the Ford Escort pilot increases his championship lead with just one event left.

More …

Results Subida a San Bartolomé 2017

After the Subida a Fataga was completed the competitors travelled north through San Bartolomé de Tirajana for the Subida a San Bartolomé. Some drivers chose to compete just in Fataga while some others suffered too much damage in the morning to compete in San Bartolomé.

One driver who was not present was Enrique Cruz. This left Luis Monzon without any serious competition. It therefore goes almost without saying that the Audi R8 LMS pilot was again the winner. With his victory he also secured the Las Palmas provincial championship. It was a special day for Luis Monzon as he drove his very first hillclimb in San Bartolomé de Tirajana 30 years ago. Interestingly enough it was neither at Fataga or San Bartolomé. 1987 was one of the rare occasions they used the eastern road on a hillclimb called Subida a Tunde.

Without Cruz all the other drivers who finished behind him in the morning moved up one place. Jonathan Morales was now second while Miguel Cabral completed the podium in third.

More …

Results Subida a Fataga 2017

On Gran Canaria the now traditional doubleheader Fataga/San Bertolomé took place today. They are two distinct hillclimbs around San Bartlomé de Tirjuana. This year the Subida a Fataga also counted towards the Canary Islands Hillclimb Championship. Luis Monzon was already certain of the state championship. But with another victory at Fataga he gave his title just a little bit more glory. Enrique Cruz made a rare mistake in the first race where he damaged his Porsche 997 GT3. The car could be repaired in time for the second race were Cruz set the second fastest time. Jonathan Morales completed the podium in Fataga. The sportscars were not the best machines for the slow 4,5 kilometre long track.

More …

Results Subida al Coll de Vidre (Atzeneta) 2017

The next hillclimb in Valenciana was the Subida al Coll de Vidre near Atzeneta del Maestrat. Guest driver Edgar Montella was the winner. He was joined on the podium by Toni Arriete and Augusto Lezcano. Raul Borreguero was best touringcar driver in fourth.

More …

Results Subida Al Sueve 2017

The Asturias Hillclimb Championship went to the El Fito Mountain this Sunday. But instead of the southern side of the mountain that the European Championship uses, the competitors tackled the northern side. Over 40 drivers were present at the Subida Al Sueve. Ismael Garcia won the event in front of Gerard De La Casa and José Antonio Lopez-Fombona.

More …

Results Subida a Udala 2017

The Basque Hillclimb Championship visited the short Subida a Udala. Rain came just after the first race was completed which meant that nobody could improve their times anymore. Joseba Iraola was the quickest in his Norma M20 FC, right in front of Aitor Zabaleta in the much older Lola BMW. Joseba Olea completed the podium in his Demon Car R34.

More …

Results Subida a La Pizarra 2017

The Subida a La Pizarra was a brand-new hillclimb in Castilla y Leon. The organizers should be applauded for finding this 7,2 kilometres long road. It has all the potential for becoming one of the greatest hillclimbs in Spain. The road is fast and technical with challenging turns followed by hairpins. For specators it also seems a fantastic event as the lack of big plants give great sightlines.

It is therefore very sad that only a few drivers came out to support this new event. Just 14 pilots managed to set a time last Saturday. Pablo Gomez became the winner in his Osella PA20/S sportscar. The only serious opposition came from Gabriel Gutierrez who had to retire in the second race with mechanical problems. Francisco Javier Ferrero was the best touringcar driver and third overall.

More …

Results Subida a Peña Cabarga 2017

In Cantabria the competitors contested the Subida a Peña Cabarga near Santander. Joseba Iraola dominated the event in his Norma M20 FC sportscar. His fastest time was more than 10 seconds quicker as everybody else. Joseba Olea in the Demon Car R34 finished second while Ruben Echevarria completed the podium.

More …

Results Subida a Santo Domingo 2017

Another hillclimb did take place on the Canary Islands this weekend. On Sunday the Subida a Santo Domingo on La Palma was contested trouble-free. Anibal de Luis was the only sportscar entered and he took a simple victory. Best of the touringcars was Miguel Suarez. The Porsche 997 GT3 pilot was almost 10 seconds quicker than his rivals in the first race run. In the second run Suarez did not push anymore but was still quickest. Victorino Concepcion was the surprising runner-up after the first run. It did not last as José Francisco Acosta found some more speed in the second race to make it a Porsche 1-2.

More …