Results Rampa da Penha 2018

The Portuguese Hillclimb Championship began this weekend with the Rampa da Penha near Guimarães. On Saturday a spring storm travelled over northern Portugal. Conditions became so difficult that the Saturday sessions were stopped early. The weather improved overnight. Sporadic rain showers and some fog made it still difficult for the drivers, but as the day progressed the weather improved more and more. Most drivers set their fastest time in the third and final race.

Rui Ramalho did not have to face his long time rival Pedro Salvador in Guimarães. That did not mean victory would come easy. The touringcars had a distinct advantage over the sportscars in the wet. Ramalho did win, but was just 2 seconds ahead of runner-up João Barros. Rally-driver Barros made a rare appearance in hillclimb racing but almost surprised everyone. He steered his Ford Fiesta R5 to touringcar victory and second overall. Manuel Correia was fastest overall on Saturday but dropped a few places on Sunday. Still he finished third overall and did a good job in the championship. Gonçalo Manahu seemed set for another GT victory after fastest times in the first and second race. But Adruzilo Lopes set a very fast time in the third race and came within .05 seconds of Manahu.

Pedro Coelho Saraiva debuted his new Hyundai i20 with victory in the new Touringcar Division 1. He also finished 11th overall. That was one spot ahead of Luis Nunes, the winner of Tourincar Division 4. Joaquim Teixeira was the quickest in the Touringcar Division 3. José Pedro Gomes was the quickest historic driver.

07-08/04/2018 – Rampa da Penha
Pos.Last NameFirst NameCarCl.Final
1 RamalhoRuiOsella PA2000 E2PT/E2-SC/33:15,246
2 BarrosJoãoFord Fiesta R5T2/E1F/83:17,028
3 CorreiaManuelFord Fiesta R5+T2/E1F/93:24,578
4 GonçalvesHugoSubaru ImprezaT2/E1B/93:25,535
5 SilvaLuisCitroën DS3 R5T2/E1F/83:26,100
6 ManahuGonçaloPorsche 997 GT3GT/53:26,382
7 LopesAdruziloPorsche 997 GT3GT/53:26,432
8 PiresSilvinoFord EscortT2/E1B/93:28,052
9 GuimarãesNunoBRC CM02PT/CM/13:29,576
10 CorreiaJoséNissan GT3GT/53:32,008
11 Coelho SaraivaPedroHyundai i20T1/A2/83:29,336
12 NunesLuisAudi RS3 LMST4/TCR/103:31,556
13 MouraGustavoAudi RS3 LMST4/TCR/103:33,685
14 SummavielleParcidioRenault Clio R3T1/A1/73:38,246
15 TeixeiraJoaquimSeat Leon SupercopaT3/TRFA/93:41,091
16 NogueiraSergioRenault Clio RST2/E1C/73:42,548
17 MarquesPedroSeat Leon TCRT4/TCR/103:43,820
18 SilvaCarlosPeugeot 106T2/E1C/63:44,501
19 MirandaJosé PedroPorsche 911RT2/E1B/93:44,879
20 PinheiroRuiBMW M3 E98T2/E1B/93:45,860
21 GomesJosé PedroFord Escort MK25/H-H75/173:46,347
22 RamalhoPauloOsella PA21/S EVOPT/CN/33:47,025
23 MorgadoFranciscoMitsubishi Lancer EVO IXT2/E1B/93:50,490
24 FreitasArmandoToyota StarletTPM/153:53,664
25 SainhasFlavioFord Escort MK15/H-H75/173:54,020
26 MachadoFlavioRenault Clio SportT3/TRFB/73:54,039
27 BrasLeonelCitroën AXTPM/163:57,000
28 LoureiroRicardoFord Escort MK26/G5/173:59,740
29 PiairoRenatoToyota Celica GT-4T2/E1B/83:59,763
30 RoloAnibalDatsun 12005/I-H81/173:59,891
31 GomesTelmoAlfa Romeo 156T3/TRFB/74:00,346
32 SalgueiroFernandoFord Escort MK26/G5/174:02,525
33 CaldasCésarCitroën Saxo CupT3/TRFB/64:02,637
34 GuimarãesJoãoPeugeot 206 RCT1/A1/74:02,707
35 VasconcelosAugustoFord Escort5/H-H75/174:09,956
36 SilvaAntonioBMW 325 E306/G5/184:14,053
37 FavaCarlosVolkswagen Beetle 13036/G5/174:14,703
38 MarquesAbelAutobianchi A112 AbarthTPCM/214:21,814
39 GamaRuiMini ClubmanTPM/164:24,546
40 OliveiraJoséToyota YarisTPM/154:45,271
41 FernandesDomingosAutobianchi A112TPCM/205:01,192

07-08/04/2018 – Rampa da Penha (Regional)
Pos.Last NameFirst NameCarCl.Final
1 SilvaDanielVolkswagen PoloX21:53,807
2 OliveiraRicardoMitsubishi Lancer EVO VIX32:00,277
3 BoavidaNunoRenault Megane N4X52:02,946
4 OliveiraOlegarioToyota CorollaX22:06,066
5 FreitasAntonioCitroën SaxoX22:12,939

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *