Austria, Belgium, Europe, France, Germany, Spain

Class structure visualized

The variety of classes, divisions and categories in the hillclimb sport is hard to understand. I have tried to put the class structures of the major championships in a single table. You can now view my efforts for the European Championship, the European Cup, the FIA Hillclimb Masters and the national championships of Austria, Belgium, France, Germany and Spain.

Sadly, in my opinion it still looks rather messy. Advice, corrections and/or critism is always welcome.

You may also like...


  1. Beat says:

    Re the FIA Hill Climb Masters. As you wrote, there are 3 categories:
    Category 1 (Production) and Category 2(Competition) are the same as per the categories 1 and 2 of FIA EHC. However the Category 3 “Open” are not only open to E1 cars (FIA Art. 277 Appendix J cars) or national E1 but to any other vehicles of national groups (French CN+ 4 litres, British formula classes, Spanish CM cars etc.). This is not crystal clear in your table.
    Hope this helps.

  2. Beat says:

    Hello again!

    Another quick note: Actually the correct title of the FIA Cup is “FIA International Hill Climb Cup” (not European). This is a detail.
    Thank you for your work!

  3. Heuvelklim says:

    Thank you for your input!

    Your explanation of the Masters is of course correct. I have added the technical regulations to each group in the table. Hopefully that makes it better to understand.

    Thank you also for your correction on the title of the Cup. I have changed ‘European’ into ‘International’.

  4. Davide says:

    I can help you for the class structure of the Italian championship (not Autostoriche!).
    First of all, there aren’t categories that award the championships, but the groups award the championships.
    Here you are the groups and classes.
    Racing Start (production cars): for the naturally aspirated petrol cars, RS1 (1150cc), RS2 (1400cc), RS3 (1600cc), RS4 (2000cc); for the turbo petrol cars, RSTB1 (1400cc), RSTB2 (1600cc), RSTW (cars that use both a turbocharger and a supercharger up to 1600cc); for the diesel cars (both aspirated and turbo), RSD (2000cc);
    N (including R1): 1150cc, 1400cc, 1600cc, 2000cc, 3000cc, +3000cc, Diesel 2000cc, Diesel +2000cc;
    A (including R2,R3,R4,R5,WRC): 1150cc, 1400cc, 1600cc, 2000cc, 3000cc, +3000cc, Diesel 2000cc, Diesel +2000cc;
    E1 Italia: 1150cc, 1400cc, 1600cc, 2000cc, 1600cc turbo, 3000cc, +3000cc, Diesel 2000cc, Diesel +2000cc;
    GT: RGT 2000cc, RGT 3000cc, RGT +3000cc (art.256 Appendix J), GT3 2000cc, GT3 3000cc, GT3 +3000cc (art.257 Appendix J), GT CUP 2000cc, GT CUP 3000cc, GT CUP +3000cc (GT cars from trophies, for example Ferrari Challenge);
    E2S (art.277 E2-SH): 1150cc, 1400cc, 1600cc, 2000cc, 3000cc, +3000cc;
    CN: 1000cc, 1300cc, 1600cc, 2000cc, 2500cc, 3000cc, TD (turbodiesel) 2000cc;
    E2B (art.277 E2-SC): 1000cc, 1300cc, 1600cc, 2000cc, 2500cc, 3000cc, TD (turbodiesel) 2000cc;
    E2M (art.277 D/E2-SS): 1000cc, 1600cc, 2000cc, 3000cc.
    Points awarded per groups and classes.
    Championships awarded to the absolute winner of the championship and to the groups winners except E2S (that awards a cup), E2B (that awards a trophy) and TD class of group CN; Racing Start awards two championships, one for naturally aspirated petrol and diesel cars (diesel also turbo), another for the turbo petrol cars.
    Cups awarded to classes winners, to the best driver that has a Superstars cars in group E1 Italia and to the winner of group E2S.

    Congratulations for this good site!

  5. Heuvelklim says:

    Thank you for your help. I have added the Italian classes.

  6. Davide says:

    Great job!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *