Videos Hillclimbs 18-19 March 2017

Below are a couple of videos of the hillclimbs that were competed last weekend.

More …

Results Bergrallye Lödersdorf 2017

The Bergrallye Lödersdorf was the season opener in Austria. Karl Schagerl won the event with a new trackrecord. Rupert Schwaiger finished second while Stefan Wiedenhofer completed the podium.

More …

Preview, Timing and Entrylist Bergrallye Lödersdorf 2017

The Bergrallye Cup in Austra starts this Sunday with the Bergrallye Lödersdorf. It will be the first of 8 rounds this season.

The E1 +2000 4-wheel-drive class was very exciting last year. Felix Pailer, Werner Karl, Stefan Wiedenhofer and Markus Binder were very closely matched in every race. All four drivers return for 2017. Karl Schagerl is also entered in the Bergrallye-Cup with his mighty Volkswagen Golf Rallye TFSI-R. However the Austrian Champion is not yet certain he will compete in every round. At the Bergrallye Lödersdorf the drivers will be joined by Bruno Iannello in his famous Lancia Delta S4.

More …

Calendar Bergrallye Cup 2017

17/04/2017St. Andrä-Kitzeck
20/08/2017Hofstätten an der Raab

Results Bergrallye Hofstätten an der Raab 2016

160821_hofstattenAfter a two month break the Bergrallye-Cup returned with the Bergrallye Hofstätten an der Raab. Rupert Schwaiger took a commanding victory. It was behind him that the excitement erupted. In the 4-Wheel-Drive class all three drivers finished within a second of eachother. It was Felix Pailer who took class victory and second overall, closely followed by Werner Karl and Stefan Wiedenhofer. A huge surprise came in E1 -2000 where Andreas Marko suffered a rare defeat at the hands of Michael Wels.

More …

Results Alpe del Nevegal 2016

The 2016 edition of the Alpe del Nevegal Hillclimb near Belluno counted towards the Italian Hillclimb Cup North and the Austrian Hillclimb Championship. After the touringcars completed their first race session on Sunday morning the started coming down hard. Because the race was not very important championship-wise a lot of Italian drivers in the sportscars and sinleseaters decided not to start. In this group of non-starters were favourites such as Michele Fattorini and Adolfo Bottura. Some others, like Danny Zardo, gave it a try but were so far back in the results that they took no risks in the second race. All in all about one fifth of the drivers was absent in at least one of the two race sessions.

Just like two years ago the touringcar drivers decided wo would win the Alpe del Nevegal. The best Italian driver Marco Sbrollini saw his Lanica Delta ground to a halt with mechanical problems early in the day. As a results the Austrians came out on top unchallenged with Karl Schagerl claiming victory.

More …

Results Bergrennen Sankt Anton an der Jessnitz 2016

160710_stantonThe Austrian Hillclimb Championship returned home this weekend for the Bergrennen Sankt Anton an der Jessnitz. The race also counted towards the German Berg-Cup. The more than 100 competitors completed their races in perfect weather.

Andreas Stollnberger was the man to beat this weekend. The Dallara F302 pilot was fast right from the start as he set what turned out to be fastest time of the day in the first race run. Karl Schagerl was very close but a broken turbo hose in the second run saw him lose valuable seconds. He managed to repair his Volkswagen Golf Rallye in time for the third race and still secured second overall. This relegated Ferdinand Madrian (Norma M20F) to third place. Fourth finished Herbert Pregartner, the best of the Berg-Cup drivers.

More …

Results Bergrallye Naas 2016

160626_naasResults Bergrallye Naas.

More …

Results GHD Gorjanci 2016

Stefano Di Fulvio scored a sensational victory at the GHD Gorjanci this weekend. Start position was crucial as the rain kept increasing during the day. Because the historic drivers started before the modern cars they had the best conditions. In the dry Di Fulvio was around 8 seconds slower than the best modern driver but they lost way more than that in the rain. As a result the Osella PA9/90 pilot could claim overall victory, besides of course the win in the European Historic Hillclimb Championship.

Patrik Zajelsnik was fastest modern driver in the dry. The Norma M20F pilot almost broke the trackrecord even though a new chicane made the track slower than in previous years. However when the rain started falling he dropped back to eighth. International Hillclimb Cup points leader Vaclav Janik now moved forward and took home the modern victory. Beating Di Fulvio however was not possible so Janik had to be satisfied with second overall. Last year’s winner Federico Liber secured the final podium spot. Fourth was for best touringcar driver Karl Schagerl who also increases his lead in the Austrian Hillclimb Championship. Ronnie Bratschi was second best touringcardriver so the Swiss remains in the lead of Category E1 in the International Hillclimb Cup.

In the Slovenia Hillclimb Championship favourite Milan Bubnic started a lot later than his rivals Peter Marc and Ales Prek. As a results Bubnic was only third behind the two others.

More …

Entrylist GHD Gorjanci 2016

The International Hillclimb Cup moves to Slovenia this weekend for the GHD Gorjanci. Besides the national championship the race also counts towards the European Historic Hillclimb Championship and the Austrian Hillclimb Championship. Just over 100 drivers are entered. Federico Liber won here in 2013 and 2015 and he is again the favourite this time around.

More …