Standings updated

You can now find the complete 2017 points standings of the Czech Republic and Slovenia along with all the relevant class and group winners, on the repective pages.

Calendar Slovenia Hillclimb Championship 2018

The Slovenian Hillclimb Championship will count 6 races in 2018. There are still only three hillclimbs within this small country, namely Ilirska Bistrica, Gorjanci and Lucine. The championship is completed with Rechberg in Austria, Verzegnis in Italy and Buzet in Croatia.

More …

Results Buzetski dani 2017

The Buzetski Dani in Croatia was the final round of the European Hillclimb Championship. Christian Merli won the event with a new trackrecord. Simone Faggioli finished second but was already certain of the European Title. Milos Benes finished third, just ahead of a brilliant Stefano Di Fulvio. Three more Italians followed with Fausto Bormolini in fifth, Federico Liber in sixth and Renzo Napione in seventh. In the Croatian Championship Laszlo Szasz was the fastest driver. The Hungarian finished eigth overall. Ninth was for best silhouette driver Dan Michl while the top 10 was completed by CN winner Andrea Bormolini.

In the touringcars Erich Weber, also known as “Tessitore”, wins his first European title. He finished only third in the GT class, but it was enough. Tomas Vavrinec had to win Group N to at least have a chance for the title, but the Czech finished only second behind Shkelzen Lajci. By winning Group A Lukas Vojacek hops over Jan Milon in the points standings to end the season in third.

More …

Results GHD Ilirska Bistrica 2017

Simone Faggioli is the new European Hillclimb Champion. Today the Italian won the GHD Ilirska Bistrica in Slovenia and saw his main rival Christian Merli retire. With this victory Faggioli collected the maximum amount of championship points. For Merli it was only his first retirement of the season. However because of the half points in France, he can not score maximum points anymore.

In Category 1 the championship is not yet decided. Austrian “Tessitore” scored another victory in the GT Group but his rival Tomas Vavrinec did the same in Group N. Vavrinec is 23 points behind so he has to win in Buzet and also has to hope that “Tessitore” finishes sixth or lower.

More …

Results GHD Lučine 2017

Results of the GHD Lučine.

More …

Results GHD Gorjanci 2017

In perfect weather Federico Liber became the winner of the GHD Gorjanci this weekend. The Italian fought a hard duel with Vaclav Janik but in the end Liber was fastest in both race sessions. Janik does increase his lead in the International Hillclimb Cup. Jiri Svoboda drove one of his better races in his career and finished third overall. Hermann Waldy was the best driver in the Austrian Championship. He steered his Dallara F306 to fourth overall. Fifth was for the best driver in the E1 category, Karl Schagerl. Best of the historic drivers was Uberto Bonucci. As the Di Fulvio brothers were absent he had no trouble securing victory. Best of the local drivers was Milan Bubnic. With a great performance the Lancia Delta pilot was even quicker than Vladimir Stankovic in the Gibson sportscar.

More …

Preview and Entrylist GHD Gorjanci 2017

The International Hillclimb Cup moves to Slovenia this coming weekend for the GHD Gorjanci. Vaclav Janik is leading the Cup in the sportscars and will be a favourite for victory in Gorjanci. His biggest rival for the winners trophy will be Federico Liber who is once again present in his Gloria C8P EVO.

In the E1 category Milan Bubnic is the local favourite. The main bulk of this category is filled with Austrians. The northern neighbours are competing in Slovenia this weekend for their own championship. As far as international drivers Ronnie Bratschi and Lyuben Kamenov are the most prominent.

Laszlo Hernadi is the only driver in the S2000 class. He will score another 12.5 points if he reaches the finishline. It is still not very clear who is main rivals in the production category are.

The GHD Gorjanci is also a round of the European Historic Hillclimb Championship. Almost 1/3 of the drivers entered are competing in the historic event. Last year Stefano Di Fulvio surprised everyone by taking overall victory. The Osella PA9/90 pilot returns this year to give it another try. Main rivals include his equally fast brother Simone and Uberto Bonucci.

More …

Results Cronoscalata Verzegnis – Sella Chianzutan 2017

After the cyclists climbed the Sella Chianzutan earlier this week, it was now time for the cars to take on the mountain for the Cronoscalata Verzegnis – Sella Chianzutan. Thanks to a brilliant run in the first race Christian Merli secured himself the victory. That Domenico Scola was the quickest driver in the second race did not matter as it was not nearly enough to unsettle Merli from first position. Two Osella PA2000 drivers in Domenico Cubeda and Francesco Conticelli finished third and fourth respectively. Fifth was for an unstoppable Luca Ligato, the CN winner. Ligato saw his main rival Achille Lombardi retire in the first race, so he gained a massive amount of points this weekend.

As usual the Verzegnis Hillclimb counted for a number of different championships. The International Hillclimb Cup celebrated its fourth round of the season. Vaclav Janik is still unopposed in the sportscars. With his third place in E2-SC he scores again a number of points. In Group E1 Ronnie Bratschi made his first appearance of the year. The Swiss Champion immediately won the Group, although he was slower than silhouette driver Manuel Dondi. Karel Trneny will be Bratshi’s main rival this season. At Verzegnis the Czech remained close to Bratschi and finished second in the group. In the Production Cars Laszlo Hernadi collected half points for his class victory in S2000.

Karl Schagerl was the fastest driver in the Austrian Hillclimb Championship. He advanced Hannes Kaufmann and Andreas Stollnberger. Milan Bubnic absolutely dominated the Slovenian Championship. His lead over runner-up Peter Marc and third placed Ales Prek was enormous.
More …

Results Nagrada Stubickih Toplica 2017

It rained at the Nagrada Stubičke Toplice this weekend, although someone forgot to tell Domagoj Perekovic. He won the Croatian season opener with a 17 second lead on Robert Bradaric and Istvan Kavecz. Fourth placed Bojan Juranic was a whopping 40 seconds behind! A brilliant start of the season for Perekovic who must be the favourite for the championship this year.

The race also counted towards the Slovenian Hillclimb Championship. The rain came as a welcome gift to Ales Prek. The former European Champion managed to steer his underpowered Honda Civic Type-R to victory. Milan Bubnic had a faster single time, but came up short on aggregate time. Peter Marc was third.

The event also counted towards the Category 2 championship for sportscars and singleseaters. But neither Laszlo Szasz or his Slovenian rival Vladimir Stankovic could make an impression in the rain.
More …

Preview and Entrylist Nagrada Stubickih Toplica 2017

The Croatian Hillclimb Championship starts this weekend with the Nagrada Stubickih Toplica. The organisers have high ambitions as the event this weekend is a candidate for both the International Hillclimb Cup as well as the European Historic Hillclimb Championship. On the longer term they are even aiming for the European Championship. In order to achieve these goals the 5,5 kilometre long road near Zagreb received a big update over the winter. Almost 1 kilometre of new double guard rails were installed to bring the track up to modern safety standards.

A great entry of 90 drivers will participate this weekend. Among them also a number of Slovenians as the race also counts towards their national championship. Their top drivers Vladimir Stankovic and Milan Bubnic might be candidates for the overall and touringcar victory. They will have to beat the ‘Croatogarians’ Laszlo Szasz and Istvan Kavecz for that.

More …